You are here

O my heart

16th C

Oh my heart is a sad love-song from the first half of the sixteenth century. It's attributed to Henry VIII. It's for three people - soprano, alto/tenor, bass.

The custom in Southron Gaard is to sing the song this way:

  1. Soprano line only
  2. Soprano line and alto/tenor line together (no basses)
  3. All three parts, normal volume
  4. All three parts, loud
  5. All three parts, soft

There are a number of recordings online. You might have to add "Henry VIII" (or similar) to a search to weed out the modern stuff. I rather like this choir. For a very different sound: this version for countertenor and lute.

Computer-generated sound files (midis), to help in learning parts.

  1. Soprano
  2. Alto/Tenor
  3. Bass
  4. All three parts together

The song plays twice through.

Henry VIII
Sheet Music: 

There is sheet music in the Big Lochac Snogbook (pdf) (page 50).


Music Categories: